Going, they were healed…

For those of us who were raised in the Christian tradition, sometimes Bible stories seem so familiar we miss something significant in them.

One of those stories occurs in Luke 17:11-19–the healing of ten lepers. It reads this way in The Message:

“It happened that as he made his way toward Jerusalem, he crossed over the border between Samaria and Galilee. As he entered a village, ten men, all lepers, met him. They kept their distance but raised their voices, calling out, ‘Jesus, Master, have mercy on us!’

Taking a good look at them, he said, ‘Go, show yourselves to the priests.'”

“They went, and while still on their way, became clean. One of them, when he realized that he was healed, turned around and came back, shouting his gratitude, glorifying God. He kneeled at Jesus’ feet, so grateful. He couldn’t thank him enough—and he was a Samaritan.

“Jesus said, ‘Were not ten healed? Where are the nine? Can none be found to come back and give glory to God except this outsider?’ Then he said to him, ‘Get up. On your way. Your faith has healed and saved you.’”

There are several things that are important in this story, but what has really struck me is the verse that says “They went, and while still on their way, became clean.” Jesus didn’t heal them while they were standing there, waiting. They had to act in faith–to start to go to show themselves to the priests, even as they were still leprous, but it was while they were on that journey that the healing took place.

What a powerful statement!

I deal with an autoimmune disease and have for almost 50 years. One of the challenges I have is that I sometimes have issues that make it necessary to quickly find a bathroom–and that is not always possible. Stress makes those situations worse–and so sometimes, even though it’s been something I really want to do, I’ve found it easier to just stay at home.

Have I prayed? You bet! And yes, I believe I have received a healing–that’s a story for another post, but the bathroom issues have remained.

The pandemic in many ways has made it easier to almost become a hermit, but that’s not what I want. There are activities I want to participate in with my family…concerts and services I want to attend.

And so, even as I continue to pray, I am also doing my best to live in the attitude of “Going, they were healed.” Taking an active part in my healing rather than simply standing around, waiting.

Is it easy? No. The concern is still there. But as I’m discovering (again) the importance of being an active participant in the process, I’m finding it possible to participate in those activities. Deep breathing…repeating that statement…whatever it takes to remind me that I’m not alone in this healing process–and that it is possible.

Some may say it’s simply a case of mind over matter. That may be, but I choose to believe that the One who created us has given us those abilities and asks us to use them, and so…rather than stand or sit around waiting for something to happen, I am trying to live in the mindset of “Going, they were healed” on a daily basis.