Is it enough?

When we’re young, we have lots of dreams and hopes. The world stretches before us, and it seems like there will be plenty of time to accomplish everything we want to.

But it’s not long before life intervenes…reality hits us, and we realize that some things just aren’t going to happen the way we were expecting. But that’s okay…there’s still plenty of time.

The years continue to pass by…and before we know it, there are more years behind us than there are ahead. Another reality bump…and a time for some questioning.

The question that keeps coming to my mind is this: Is it enough? Is what I have done during my life enough? Has it helped someone else? Has it accomplished at least some of the dreams I had?

Some of  that is fairly easy to answer, but some of it…I don’t know. I don’t know how to respond. My perspective is too skewed…I’m too close to the situation. I need someone else to respond.

I still have some of those dreams, but I’m realizing that they’ll just stay dreams unless I put some concrete action steps with them. Do I have enough time? I know…if I don’t, the years will still pass, and I’ll still be two (or three or more) years older, still carrying those dreams.

Some of those dreams needed to stay that–just dreams. They were nice ideas, but not really tied in to my skills and interests.

Some of them have been accomplished, but in ways very different from my planning. I can look back and see the way life events have worked together to make them possible.

But I still wonder if what I have done is enough. Are there others I could touch? should touch? And if so, how?

There’s a saying attributed to Mother Teresa that I have really liked–“Not all of us can do great things. But we can do small things with great love.” And I wonder…have I done that? Is it enough?

 

Leave a Reply

