What can I do?

(I’m not sure what happened, but my original post apparently had some difficulties and was truncated. Here is what you should have seen.)

In my last post, I mentioned the financial difficulties my denomination is facing–but also my hope for the future.

Since that news came out, I’ve watched with interest the various comments.

For many, it’s still a sense of shock. I understand that. It had seemed that we were maybe through the worst of the financial situations we’ve been dealing with the last few years. Donations seemed to be going up–so why this seemingly sudden “disaster”?

Others are struggling with their reactions toward leadership. I understand that as well. If the situation is as dire as it seems to be, how could our leaders not have seen it coming?

Still others are dealing with personal fears. Their jobs are on the line, and there’s no guarantee that they will have employment after the end of March. Boy, do I understand that! And it’s even more than just not having a job. It’s wondering if you somehow misunderstood your sense of “calling” to be working in your faith tradition…and asking God, “If this is where you were calling me to be, then what’s going on?!?”

The comments from others wonder if the church will survive. Is religion passé? Or…perhaps…is it just my faith tradition that is dying?

And yet…and this is what gives me hope…others–who still are concerned/upset/even somewhat angry–still see new possibilities. They see this is a chance to really think about who we are…what we are called to be doing…and to reconsider, on both personal and corporate levels, our priorities.

There are still going to be dark times ahead, but I don’t think it’s the end of the world…or the end of my denomination. It may be the end of doing and being church as we have for the past 150 years…but as we get through the shock and anger, I think God is not finished with us yet–and if we are willing to listen, I think there are new opportunities for us.

So what can I do?

I can listen to those who are hurting. I can support them in prayer.

I can look at my own financial priorities and determine how I can change them to be more responsive to what I say I believe in.

I can be willing to look for new opportunities…to not think that the future has to look just like the past.

“If you want to fly on the sky, you need to leave the earth. If you want to move forward, you need to let go the past that drags you down.”
― Amit Ray, World Peace: The Voice of a Mountain Bird

“Never be afraid to trust an unknown future to a known God.”
― Corrie ten Boom

“The future depends on what you do today.”
― Mahatma Gandhi

Leave a Reply

