You are what you read…hear…

A few years ago, I realized that I was starting my days in a less-than-positive mood. I couldn’t figure out why. I’d have slept well…it would be a beautiful morning…and I would feel “Blah” (or worse). I couldn’t figure out what the problem was.

I wake up to a clock radio, and was waking up to the news. Hmmm….

So I decided to try an experiment. The easiest thing to change in my morning start was what I was listening to. I changed from listening to the news to listening to a CD–classical music, movie themes, hymns…it varies. It worked. My morning mood made a 180-degree change.

I still get my news fix–but now it comes when I’ve had a chance to get the day off to a more positive start.

So I’m thinking it’s time to try another experiment.

If you’ve been following my blog for very long, you know that I’m a book addict…with eclectic tastes. If it looks interesting, I’ll at least pick it up and start it–and if it gets my hooked, I’ll finish it! I usually have several books going…on by the bathtub, one by my bed, one in the bathroom, one in the living room, and one on my tablet. Maybe more than that, but at least those.

I’ve noticed again that my mood has been on a bit of a downer. So I got to looking at the books I’ve been reading. Hmmm…. Wonder if there just might be any correlation?? They were good books…but they dealt with the dark side of life.

I’ve realized that when I read a book like Pure Joy by Danielle Steel (about life with dogs), my mood shifted dramatically. The same happens when I read books by Richard Rohr. Even when I read A Lucky Child by Thomas Buergenthal (this month’s Book of the Month)–a memoir of his surviving Auschwitz as a 10-year-old–my mood was still good. Why? I began to realize they were books of hope. They don’t sugar-coat life, but they look at the positives in life.

So…

I think it’s time to make some changes. What I read…what I hear…they do impact what I think and how I feel. Lesson learned…!

Leave a Reply

