Goals

Often at the first of the year (whether it’s on January 1 or simply early in the year), we make New Year’s Resolutions…and by mid-February, they have often gone the way of the dodo bird! I think that sometimes the word “resolution” scares us. If we miss a day or simply “fall off the wagon,” we immediately tend to think that it’s no use–we’ve failed, so there’s no point in continuing to try.

But what happens if we look at goals for the upcoming year?

That way we’re not demanding a daily accounting of ourselves, but we’re looking at things in a more long-term way. If we slip, then we slip…but we can pick ourselves back up and continue working to meet the goal.

I’ve got several goals for this year:

  • Spend intentional quiet time focusing on my spiritual journey. I know this one is going to be a little challenging – when I was working, I had a built-in time for spiritual discipline; now that I’m retired, I’m going to have to make the decision of when/where.
  • Work on eating in a more healthy fashion…not completely cutting myself off from junk food, but trying to keep it in its proper place.
  • Exercise on a regular basis.
  • Keep the house and desk more organized (hopefully a bit easier to do since I’m home more now).
  • Play more with jewelry making and hopefully sell some.
  • Let my creative writing juices get flowing again…write enough poetry to look at publishing a book of it.

I could probably write several more–but if I write too many, I know I’ll feel overburdened. These are things I really want to do this year! I’ll revisit this at the end of the year and see how I’ve done.

How about you?

Leave a Reply

