Chosen…for what?

A friend of mine sent this yesterday:

Think of the many, many stories about God choosing people. There are Moses, Abraham, and Sarah; there are David, Jeremiah, Gideon, Samuel, Jonah, and Isaiah. There is Israel itself. Much later there are Peter and Paul, and, most especially, Mary.

God is always choosing people. First impressions aside, God is not primarily choosing them for a role or a task, although it might appear that way. God is really choosing them to be God’s self in this world, each in a unique situation. If they allow themselves to experience being chosen, being a beloved, being somehow God’s presence in the world, they invariably communicate that same chosenness to others. And thus the Mystery passes on from age to age. Yes, we do have roles and tasks in this world, but finally they are all the same—to uniquely be divine love in a way that no one else can or will.

Adapted from Things Hidden: Scripture as Spiritualityby Richard Rohr pp. 42-43

What an interesting way to look at God’s choosing!

I’ve sometimes tended to run when I sense God calling…sometimes because I don’t want to take on another task or role. I usually have plenty of things going on and I don’t need to add yet another “job.”

But this gives a totally different perspective. I’m not being asked to take on yet something else to try to find time for on my calendar…I’m being asked to simply be. Rohr’s statement is that we are being called “to be God’s self in this world, each in a unique situation.” To me that carries with it the implication that I am being called to be true to who God created me to be–since I believe that each of us has been created in God’s image…and each of us lives in unique life circumstances.

Right now I am feeling swamped with jobs that have to get done–preferably yesterday! I haven’t even written down my to-do list, because I don’t want to know just how much “stuff” is on my plate (although I probably will write it down shortly just to be sure that I don’t miss anything). I don’t want to add anything else…and so I’ve ignored (or tried to!) the sense of God calling.

But this short devotional from Rohr gives me hope. It’s like another friend said many years ago: God doesn’t want more of my time. God wants more of me.

That’s something I can do.

Leave a Reply

