Retirement’s coming…

I hadn’t planned on retiring. I thought my job was mine for as long as I wanted it–and I was still enjoying it. But then I found that I had been misinformed–that the position I was in had mandatory retirement, and I was old enough that it was kicking in.

My initial reaction was frustration and–yes–some anger. I could still do my job effectively…still loved what I was doing. I asked for a waiver, something I thought might be possible, based on some of the information I found. But it was denied.

So then I had a choice.

I could either go angrily and grumpily into retirement…or I could embrace it and leave on good terms. I had already been through one very difficult time when I struggled with similar reactions, and I did not want to go down that road again. So the choice really was relatively easy.

And you know something?

The closer it’s getting to retirement, the more I’m looking forward to it!

Yes, I have loved my job…and there are still elements of it I want to be involved with–as a volunteer.

But as the author of Ecclesiastes said (and the Byrds appropriated for one of my favorite songs)…“To everything there is a season…” And I’m discovering that facing retirement–while it closes one door behind–opens up a myriad of choices!

There are so many things I’ve wanted to do in the past but didn’t have time for…and new possibilities, new discoveries.

I’ve heard people say before that they didn’t know how they had time to get everything done when they were working, and I’m beginning to understand that statement. As I look at the options before me…all the doors just waiting to be opened…I’m excited.

Sometimes we make choices…sometimes they’re made for us. But we determine how we react to them–and while there is much I will miss when the new year starts, there is so much to look forward to.

One thought on “Retirement’s coming…

  1. I can see that retirement was not in your plans. I sincerely hope you can find another place to put all your energy into. When I retired I could hardly wait, the physical demands were getting to be too much for me, and the pension was waiting… I think you are handling the realities well. Keep looking at the sunny side!

Leave a Reply

