Magic Carpets!

I used to dream about being able to fly away on a magic carpet…seeing new sights and having wonderful new experiences. Of course, as I grew older, I realized that the kind of magic carpets the movies sang about don’t exist…but there are magic carpets available to us. All we have to do is read!

This year my public library had a “6 in 12” contest. Could I read six books in twelve months? I looked at that question and laughed. Twelve months to read only six books?? I read that many (at least) in one month!

If you look at the right side of my blog, you can see book recommendations from the last three years…one (or occasionally two or three) per month in my “What I’m Reading” list. There’s also another list of books I’ve read for a review site, “Blogging for Books.”

The library contest only counted books actually checked out from their library. As we reach the end of the year, I really kind of wish I’d kept track of the books I’d read this year, but I didn’t. I do know that they covered a wide range of topics: classics, historical fiction, science fiction, autobiography, biography, classics, crafts, religion, essays…(I’m probably forgetting some topics here). But they’ve taken me many different places and times and allowed me so many new experiences I would never have had the opportunity for otherwise.

So in 2013, I’m going to keep a running list of all the books I read, regardless of where they come from. I’ll still continue to do my “book of the month” recommendation, but because I’m curious about just how much I read and what different magic carpets I ride, I’m going to put them all down.

Want to join me on the journey? There’s a whole new world just waiting for us!

Leave a Reply

