The impact of small things

There’s a saying from Mother Teresa that I’ve always appreciated…a challenge to “do small things with great love.”

Sometimes we think we have to do “great things” in order to make an impact, but recently I’ve been reminded of the impact that small things can have.

Part of my job responsibilities include helping guest organists feel at home on our wonderful instruments–a magnificent Aeolian-Skinner built in 1959 and a Casavant built in 1993.

Sometimes they are organists who are going to present a full-length concert; sometimes they are individuals who want to share a 30-minute recital in our regular recital series (daily during the summer, on Sundays during the school year).

Such was the case recently. I met an individual who wanted to play one of the 30-minute recitals and who was willing to drive several hours in order to accomplish that. We were able to schedule practice time that was convenient, and I spent some time showing him around the organ and helping him begin to be comfortable with it. I gave him some registration suggestions, since it’s sometimes hard to tell how things balance because of the location of the console…and then turned him loose to enjoy!

He played his recital, and I was delighted that we had a number of people there to hear him. It went well, and he seemed to also have a good time at the console.

When I visited with him a few minutes afterwards, he unexpectedly handed me a small package containing a set of Thomas Kincaide coasters and a card of thanks. I didn’t think I had done anything out of the ordinary–but apparently he did.

And his response was a blessing to me! The card that he selected–and the note that he wrote–both carried a message that I needed to hear at that time–a message of affirmation and appreciation.

It was a small thing–but it had a wonderful and powerful impact.

Mother Teresa was so right…

“Not all of us can do great things. But we can do small things with great love.”

Leave a Reply

