Your actions speak so loudly…

…I can’t hear what you’re saying.

That’s a statement I remember hearing quite a bit growing up. “Your actions speak so loudly I can’t hear what you’re saying.”

It took me a while to really understand what was being said. But once I got it, I began to see just how much it applied to every day.

It seems particularly apt in this political season.

As I watch the various debates, speeches, questions-and-answers, I’m discovering that I have difficulty hearing some of the words coming out of the GOP because actions have spoken so loudly.

They’re a party of family values…right. One of the front-runners has been married 3 times, with at least one of his wives having been a mistress during his previous marriage. Uh-huh…that’s the kind of family value I want promoted–not!

They’re a party that is pro-life. Sure, until an infant takes its first breath. Then woe betide it if there are any major medical  issues that the family could use help with.

They’re a party that believes in Christian values. Whatever happened to the idea of reaching out to those in need…in prison…the hungry…the sick? Seems to me that Matthew 25 has something to say that relates to those values:

“Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Enter, you who are blessed by my Father! Take what’s coming to you in this kingdom. It’s been ready for you since the world’s foundation. And here’s why:

I was hungry and you fed me,
I was thirsty and you gave me a drink,
I was homeless and you gave me a room,
I was shivering and you gave me clothes,
I was sick and you stopped to visit,
I was in prison and you came to me.’

“Then those ‘sheep’ are going to say, ‘Master, what are you talking about? When did we ever see you hungry and feed you, thirsty and give you a drink? And when did we ever see you sick or in prison and come to you?’ Then the King will say, ‘I’m telling the solemn truth: Whenever you did one of these things to someone overlooked or ignored, that was me—you did it to me.’

“Then he will turn to the ‘goats,’ the ones on his left, and say, ‘Get out, worthless goats! You’re good for nothing but the fires of hell. And why? Because—

I was hungry and you gave me no meal,
I was thirsty and you gave me no drink,
I was homeless and you gave me no bed,
I was shivering and you gave me no clothes,
Sick and in prison, and you never visited.’

“Then those ‘goats’ are going to say, ‘Master, what are you talking about? When did we ever see you hungry or thirsty or homeless or shivering or sick or in prison and didn’t help?’

“He will answer them, ‘I’m telling the solemn truth: Whenever you failed to do one of these things to someone who was being overlooked or ignored, that was me—you failed to do it to me.’

As a woman, I deeply resent reading an email from a staffer of another major candidate that says that having a woman president would put our children in danger because God doesn’t want a woman to rule public institutions.

And apparently–according to this candidate–God doesn’t want women to have any choice over whether they get pregnant or not…not should we have sex unless it’s for the purpose of having babies. Hello…what about those of us who are past that age but still like sex?!?

Don’t even get me started on the support I’m hearing from GOP supporters about the abominable actions taken by the Marines who were videotaped urinating on the bodies of dead Taliban soldiers! What kind of message does that send? It certainly doesn’t enhance our ability to engage in respectful discussions around the world…

I’d really like to believe at least some of the words that I hear coming from the political parties–but right now, actions are drowning them out.

Leave a Reply

