Gone too soon…

Last night I got word that a good friend had succumbed to the cancer he had been fighting for a couple of years. His death wasn’t unexpected–but the timing was. I had thought we would have David around for a while longer…

David was a distant cousin. We had known each other for years and claimed each other as family, even though the relationship was about 3rd or 4th generation. But he was family.

In recent years, David was a support in a different way. He was serving as president of GALA (Gay and Lesbian Acceptance), and when my husband finally admitted to himself and to me that he is bisexual, we began to develop a different relationship with David as we began getting involved with this organization that supports LGBT folks who desire to stay connected with our faith tradition…and which is trying to bridge the gap between church and community.

David was a couple of years younger than me, and that may be part of the reason why his death has shaken me. You’re not supposed to be this young when you die! I know, I’ve seen other obituaries for people in their 60s, including some individuals I graduated from high school with…but they weren’t people who were family. This death is too close to home.

You’re gone too soon, David. We need your passion, your humor, your caring… But now you’ve left it to us.

Rest in peace, my friend.

One thought on “Gone too soon…

Leave a Reply

