Saving for a special occasion…?

This last week I was reminded of a story I read a number of years ago…in Reader’s Digest, I think.

A man was going through his wife’s underwear drawers, looking for just the right pieces of clothing. He came across a slip–actually more than “just” a slip. It was a beautiful–and expensive–piece of lingerie he had bought her several years previously…and had encouraged her to wear numerous times. Her response was that she was waiting for just the “right” day. With a voice made rough by tears, he pulled it out and said, “I suppose this is the ‘right’ day now.” And he put it into the bag of clothes he was taking to the funeral home–to dress his wife’s body in.

That story really hit me hard. I didn’t have an expensive piece of lingerie…but there were numerous things I had been saving. Saving for just the “right” time…and I swore to myself that I would never do that again. They were things to enjoy now.

I’ve done better…but I realized last week that I still have some elements of that attitude to deal with. There have been times when I’ve bought something at the grocery–something that I wanted to wait to eat when the timing was “right.” But in waiting for that perfect time, I’ve allowed the food to spoil–and wasted it. I was looking for something for lunch–found a couple of packages of canned chicken/cracker combination. I’ve enjoyed them before–but this one tasted awful! I looked for the expiration date–and it was “best used by 2007”!!

Saving is good…but only if done wisely. Too often I still find myself holding onto something for that “special” day–only to find that either it never comes…or it’s so far beyond the “best used by” date that it’s spoiled.

“Start living now. Stop saving the good china for that special occasion. Stop withholding your love until that special person materializes. Every day you are alive is a special occasion. Every minute, every breath, is a gift from God.” – Mary Manin Morrissey

2 thoughts on “Saving for a special occasion…?

  1. Nice piece. I remember saving a bottle of champagne for years…waiting as you say for a special occasion with the “right” person. There have been so many times that I could have opened that bottle… and friends to share it with. I believe I ended up giving it away during a move. What a waste!

Leave a Reply

