Rest in peace…

I recently received that a friend of mine–a fellow organist–died. He had been in poor health recently, and in many ways this is a blessing. But I will miss him.

Rodney and I became members of the Auditorium Organ staff at about the same time. There were only five of us then, and he was one of the few who didn’t intimidate me. I was pleased that I had qualified for the staff, but I didn’t have the advanced degrees or the experience that the others had–and because I was a bit unsure of myself, I felt intimidated.

With Rodney, I felt more relaxed. If I made a mistake in a piece while he was listening, it didn’t feel like as big a deal as it did if some of the others were present.

After several years, he moved to New York and we didn’t see each other very often. Occasionally when he was back in town…but those times weren’t too often.

A couple of years ago, he moved back. I saw him at a chapter meeting (American Guild of Organists). We visited a little bit–he was friendly but not terribly communicative about what had brought him back to town…and when Charlie and I headed home, I told him that I thought Rodney had come home to die. I didn’t have any “logic” on my side–just a feeling.

And now he has. He is free–and listening (and playing!) music I can’t even imagine.

Go in peace, Rodney.

Leave a Reply

