Double Standard?

Just some musings that have been fermenting for quite a while…

I was truly sorry to hear about the pregnancy of Governor Palin’s oldest daughter. I think that–even with family support–she and the baby’s father, assuming they stay together, will have some difficult times ahead of them…and I hope they can make it work to the benefit of all.

However, it does raise some questions for me… Governor Palin supports abstinence-only sex education. If she–as a strong advocate–cannot get her own child to live that practice, how can she be so convinced that it is the only appropriate form of sex education for all children?

But the bigger issue for me is how the pregnancy has been treated. James Dobson of Focus on the Family has issued a statement of support that in part says:

“Being a Christian does not mean you’re perfect. Nor does it mean your children are perfect. But it does mean there is forgiveness and restoration when we confess our imperfections to the Lord. I’ve been the beneficiary of that forgiveness and restoration in my own life countless times, as I’m sure the Palins have.”

I believe that. And I am glad that the family is receiving a lot of support.

But I also wonder…what would the reaction have been if we had been talking about one of the Obama daughters? Would there have been the same kind of statements of forgiveness and support? Or would the color of their skin have elicited comments more along the lines of “Well, what can you expect from one of them?”

I’d like to think otherwise…but I have my doubts…

Leave a Reply

